About the scheme

About the scheme

by Academy Admin

The Distinguished Dissertations scheme aims to make more visible the significant contribution made by the UK - in particular by post-graduate students - to computer science.

Publication also serves to provide a model for future students. In the spring of each year a call for nominations is circulated with a closing date in April. Theses awarded the degree from January of the preceding year up to the closing date are eligible, although no dissertation can be considered more than once.

Judging takes place over the summer based on reviews of each thesis garnered from international experts in the area. The results are announced in the autumn.

The selection panel on behalf of BCS/CPHC consists of experienced computer scientists, not more than one from any institution, each normally serving on the panel for three years.

The 2017 panel members are:

  • Corina Cirstea (Southampton)
  • Edith Elkind (Oxford)
  • Michael Fisher (Liverpool)
  • Mateja Jamnik (Cambridge)
  • Steve Pettifer (Manchester)
  • Iain Philips (Loughborough)
  • Perdita Stevens (Edinburgh, chair)