by Academy Admin

The Academy aims to nurture ingenuity, inventiveness and innovation in computing and it is through our range of awards, medals and lectures that we promote excellence in the creation, study and application of knowledge in computing.

Our mission is to strengthen ties between the academic community and professional practitioners by promoting mutual accessibility and an appreciation of the value and benefit of research in computing.  To support these aims we bestow awards that recognise significant achievements in computing.

We organise the following annual awards:

Lovelace medal

The Lovelace medal recognises outstanding contributions to the understanding or advancement of Computing.

Nominations are now open for the 2016 Lovelace medal.

The 2015 Lovelace medal winner is Professor Ross Anderson. Read the press release.

Roger Needham award

The Roger Needham award recognises distinguished research contributions in Computer Science.

Nominations are now open for the 2016 Roger Needham award.

The 2015 Roger Needham award winner is Professor Niloy J. Mitra. Read the press release.

Book now for the 2015 Needham lecture

Distinguished dissertations

We also collaborate with CPHC on the following award for PhD/DPhil theses:

Distinguished dissertations

Wilkes award

The Wilkes Award is given for the best paper published in a volume of The Computer Journal. It is awarded each year to the author or authors of one paper appearing in the previous volume (year).

Recognising student's achievements

We have recently launched a new scheme to recognise technical innovation among computing students.

Innovation certification

Download our academic awards brochure