Awards Committee

Awards Committee

by Academy Admin

The Institute has a long history of involvement in awards that recognise outstanding achievements and significant contributions to the world of computing.

The Academy has responsibility for the administration and assignment of a number of prestigious professional and academic awards. This work is undertaken by the Awards Committee.

The Awards Committee has the responsibility to seek nominations of individuals, or submissions of work(s), on a regular, scheduled basis, for the various awards it administers. The Committee manages the review and selection processes, and all the activities associated with the assignment of the awards to the selected recipients. you can find more information on our awards page.

The current members of the Awards Committee are:


  • ·        Professor Philippa Gardner FBCS, Imperial College London, Program Verification, Chair of the Awards Committee

    ·        Professor James Davenport, FBCS, Bath University, Computer Algebra, Chair of the BCS Academy of Computing Board

    ·        Dr Bill Mitchell, Director BCS Academy of Computing

    ·        Donia Scott, University of Sussex, Computational Linguistics

    ·        Professor Muffy Calder, Glasgow University

    ·        Professor Steve Furber CBE FRS FREng, University of Manchester, Hardware, Lovelace medal winner

    ·        Dr Martin Sadler OBE, HP, Security

    ·        Professor Mike Wooldridge FBCS, Head of Computer Science, University of Oxford, Artificial Intelligence

Existing academic awards include:

Roger Needham award

Lovelace medal

Distinguished dissertations