Distinguished Dissertations 2010

by Academy Admin

2010 winner

Formal verification of machine-code programs
Magnus O. Myreen, University of Cambridge

Magnus O. Myreen did his BA in Computer Science at the University of Oxford, tutored by Dr Jeff Sanders. During the summers of his undergraduate degree, he worked as a research assistant at Åbo Akademi University in Finland for Prof. Ralph-Johan Back. Magnus completed his PhD on program verification in 2008 at the University of Cambridge, supervised by Prof. Mike Gordon. Currently Magnus is a research associate and co-investigator on an EPSRC grant entitled ‘Trustworthy programming for multiple instruction sets’.

2010 runners-up

NURBS-compatible subdivision surfaces
Thomas J. Cashman, University of Cambridge

Thomas Cashman is a postdoctoral researcher in the Faculty of Informatics at the University of Lugano. He studied Mathematics and Computer Science at the University of Cambridge, completing his undergraduate study in 2006 and his PhD in 2010. His doctorate was supervised by Prof. Dodgson from the Rainbow research group at the Cambridge Computer Laboratory.

Logics and analyses for concurrent heap-manipulating programs
Alexey Gotsman, University of Cambridge

Alexey Gotsman is an Assistant Research Professor at the IMDEA Software Institute in Madrid, Spain. Before joining IMDEA, he held an EPSRC Postdoctoral Fellowship in Theoretical Computer Science at the University of Cambridge, where he also got his PhD. His research interests are in software verfication, particularly, in developing reasoning techniques and automated verification tools for real-world concurrent systems software.