Lovelace medal

Lovelace medal

by Academy Admin

The Lovelace medal was established by the Institute in 1998 and is administered by the Awards Committee of the Academy.

Ada Lovelace was a mathematician and scientist who worked with, and was an inspiration to, the computer pioneer Charles Babbage.

The Lovelace medal is presented to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the understanding or advancement of Computing.

It is generally expected that there will be one medallist each year, but the regulation allows either several medallists or no medallist.

Winners will normally be invited to give a public lecture on their work at the BCS Lovelace lecture the following year; and will also be asked to contribute an article describing their work in terms accessible to a general audience for publication in ITNOW, the BCS magazine.

2016 award

Nominations are now sought for the Lovelace medal for 2016. Find out more about submitting a nomination. The closing date for nominations is 13 January 2016.

2015 award winner

For the 2015 Lovelace medal the panel sought nominations related to information systems engineering.

We are delighted to annouce that Professor Ross Anderson FRS FREng is the recipient of the 2015 Lovelace medal. The award recognises Professor Anderson's many contributions to building building security engineering into a discipline. Read the press release.

Past winners

Details of the previous winners of the Lovelace medal can be found in the Lovelace lectures section of this site.