Roger Needham award

Roger Needham award

by Academy Admin

This award is made annually for a distinguished research contribution in computer science by a UK based* researcher who has completed up to 10 years of post-doctoral research**.

The award was established in memory of the late Professor Roger Needham. Sponsored by Microsoft Research, this award is administered by the Awards Committee of the Academy.

In addition to receiving the prestigious award, the recipient will receive a £5000 prize together with an opportunity to give a public lecture on their work. The winner of the award will also be asked to contribute an article describing their work in terms accessible to a general audience for publication in ITNOW, the BCS magazine.

**Having completed up to 10 years of post-doctoral research means that, if nominated for the year "n" award, then they should normally have received their PhD after 1st January in year "n-10" (e.g., if nominated for the 2013 award, then they should normally have received their PhD after 1st January, 2003); however, allowance may be made for career breaks and part-time working.*UK based means that candidates have been ordinarily resident in the UK for three years prior to nomination, or have an equivalent substantial connection to the UK; thus if nominated in year “n” they should normally have been resident in the UK from 1st January in year "n-3".

2016 award

Nominations open on 10 October 2016 and close on 16 January 2017.  Find out more about submitting a nomination. 

2016 award winner

We are delighted to announce that Dr Sharon Goldwater, is the recipient of the 2016 Roger Needham award, sponsered by Microsoft Research Cambridge. The award has been made in recognition of her outstanding work in the area of computational linguistics. Read the press release.

Past winners

Details of the previous winners of the Roger Needham award can be found in the Roger Needham lectures section of this site.