Roger Needham lecture

Roger Needham lecture

by Academy Admin

This is an annual public lecture delivered by the winner of the Roger Needham award.

2015 lecture - Professor Niloy J. Mitra

The 2015 Needham lecture was delivered by Professor Niloy J. Mitra, University College London. The lecture took place on 2 November 2015 at The Royal Society, 6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AG.

Order of proceedings

  • Introduction: Professor Marc Alexa, Technische Universitat, Berlin
  • Needham lecture: 'Linking Form and Function Computationally', Professor Niloy Mitra, UCL
  • Vote of thanks: Professor Anthony Finkelstein, UCL
  • Reception


'Linking Form and Function, Computationally'

Form and function are long believed to be tightly coupled. While scientists have studied this relation for centuries, the recent popularity of 3D scans and models provides new avenues to revisit the problem. I will discuss the latest in computational analysis techniques to discover relations and structures from unorganized image and object collections. Beyond analysis, the results lead to new methodologies to design functional objects for physical use. In this talk, I will also discuss computational tools that support functional prototyping, guided designing, and material-aware modeling.

About the speaker

Niloy J. Mitra leads the Smart Geometry Processing group in the Department of Computer Science at University College London (UCL). He received his PhD degree from Stanford University under the guidance of Leonidas Guibas. His research interests include shape understanding, computational design, geometry processing, and more generally in computer graphics. Niloy received the ACM Siggraph Significant New Researcher Award in 2013 for his work on 'discovery and use of structure in 3D objects'. His work has twice been selected and featured as research highlights in Communication of ACM. Besides research, Niloy is an active DIYer and loves reading, climbing, and cooking.

Changes from previous years

The Roger Needham award is made for a distinguished research contribution in computer science by a UK-based researcher who has completed up to 10 years post-doctoral research. Microsoft Research sponsors this award. The only change is that candidates nominated will automatically be considered for three years, as for the Lovelace medal.

The aim of these changes is to simplify the application process, to encourage more people to be nominated, and to give each application the best chance to succeed.

Past lectures

2014 Dr Natasa Przulj 'Mining biological networks'

2013 Dr Boris Motik 'Theory and Practice: The Yin and Yang of Intelligent Information Systems'

2012 Professor Dino Distefano 'Memory Safety Proofs for the Masses'

2011 Professor Maja Pantic 'Machine Understanding of Human Behaviour'.

2010 Dr Joël Ouaknine 'Timing is Everything'.

2009 Dr Byron Cook 'Proving that programs eventually do something good'.

2008 Professor Wenfei Fan 'A Revival of Data Dependencies for Improving Data Quality'.

2007 Professor Mark Handley 'Evolving the Internet: Challenges, Opportunities and Consequences'.

2006 Dr. Andrew Fitzgibbon 'Computer Vision & the Geometry of Nature'.

2005 Professor Ian Horrocks 'Ontologies and the Semantic Web'.

2004 Dr Jane Hillston 'Tuning Systems: From Composition to Performance'.