Wilkes Award winners announced - papers free to access

Posted by Jutta Mackwell on 14 January 2015
by Jutta Mackwell

OUP and BCS have announced two winners of the Wilkes Award for Volume 56 of The Computer Journal.  The winning papers are:

A Movable Architecture for Robust Spatial Computing” by David H. Ackley, Daniel C. Cannon and Lance R. Williams 

On Selecting the Nonce Length in Distance-Bounding Protocols” by Aikaterini Mitrokotsa, Pedro Peris-Lopez, Christos Dimitrakakis and Serge Vaudenay

Both papers are free to access online.

The Wilkes Award is given for the best paper(s) published in a volume of The Computer Journal .It is awarded each year to the author or authors of a paper appearing in the previous volume (year). The Award consists of some £500 purchase vouchers from Oxford University Press.

It is named after Sir Maurice Wilkes, who was Director of the Cambridge Computer Laboratory throughout the whole development of stored program computers starting with EDSAC; inventor of labels, macros and microprogramming; with David Wheeler and Stanley Gill, the inventor of a programming system based on subroutines. 

Criteria for the Award are originality and quality of theme and treatment. The judgment is made by members of the Editorial Board.

Post a comment